Skip to content

The Invincible Iron Man #1

70
Comicscore Index
Generally favorable ratings

Based on 16 critic ratings.

Tony Stark, the genius-billionaire-playboy-philanthropist, has lost it all: his wealth… his fame… his friends. But Stark doesn’t realize he still has so much more to lose, especially when the assassins start to come for him! It’s the beginning of the end, as the Golden Avenger must fight for his life and find out what it really means to hit rock bottom.

Join Gerry Duggan (X-Men) and Juan Frigeri (The Avengers) as they take Iron Man to the darkest corners of the Marvel Universe yet!

Publication Date
Publisher
Format
Kindle Edition
Print Lenght
35 pages
Language
English
Price
$4.99
Amazon ASIN
B0BF18N5LF

Cover Artist

6%
25%
69%
16 Critic Ratings & Reviews from:
  • 100

    Un Cómic Más

    Mysterious and intense first chapter full of suspense and breakneck action.
  • 100

    FreakSugar

    The Invincible Iron Man #1 is the perfect jumping-on point for new fans of Tony's exploits, while still respecting the long history in which past readers have invested themselves.
  • 90

    Graphic Policy

    Overall, Invincible Iron Man #1 is a fun debut issue which gives a fresh remix to this very familiar character. The story by Duggan is exhilarating. The art by the creative team is remarkable. Altogether, a story that will have readers find their excitement for this character renewed.
  • 90

    AIPT

    Invincible Iron Man #1 features brutal shocks while leaning into Tony Stark's resolve in a story that draws you in and keeps you invested in the character. A thriller that puts you in Tony Stark's head, Iron Man fights beautifully against the pressure of a constant and unknown threat.
  • 90

    ComicBook.com

    Luckily, for fans of Tony Stark, Invincible Iron Man #1 from Duggan and Frigeri strikes the perfect balance between a complete reinvention and redundancy. The story is a fresh take on the beloved Avengers while staying true to his roots. The fact this creative team is able to balance the two ends in a flawless manner is stunning, making this one of the most impressive Iron Man debuts in recent memory.
  • 90

    But Why Tho?

    The Invincible Iron Man #1 is an explosive start. Duggan's run begins with a bang, and the energy manifested by that will hopefully inform the rest of the series. There is a streamlined nature to the comic, with Tony Stark basically having the armor on his back and nothing else. It's an Iron Man adventure in the heart of the Marvel Universe, borrowing the best the world has to offer with cameos and mysteries galore.
  • 90

    Fortress of Solitude

  • 87

    The Super Powered Fancast

    The Story: Duggan delivers an engaging and intriguing mystery in this first issue. Bringing Tony to his lowest is an interesting narrative choice and the new enemy being introduced make me curious about both the story and where it will go. I look forward to the next issue and how this series evolves. The Art: Frigeri delivers some great art on every page of the issue. The action is visually thrilling and I love the visual world of the character.
  • 84

    Graphic Policy

    Invincible Iron Man #1 is a great start that does an excellent job of balancing what has been going on with what’s to come. It should continue to hook and excite long time readers while acting as a perfecting starting point for new ones as well.
  • 83

    The Comicbook Dispatch

    Overall, this story is a mix between Trading Places and Minority Report (in the premise, not the futuristic precog stuff) with a weighted slap of almost every bad characteristic of Tony Stark you can think of wrapped up in one comic. If Duggans point was to make the character be at one of his lowest points, hes certainly succeeded. But, whos behind all of this, and why? For someone to go through all of this, there must be some serious hate involved. As of right now, Im intrigued and think its worth sticking out for a six-issue arc to see how this irons out.
  • 81

    Comic Watch

    After the explosive finale of the Cantwell run, Tonys still down on his luck, now staying in a bit of a dive, as he tries to rebuild his life from financial ruin. Someones out to get him, but with no proof, who could be pulling his strings? Is it someone we know, or someone completely new? Lots of questions, and some great art gave this book a boost. Hopefully these two can capture a Tony we havent seen in awhile: the fun version.
  • 80

    Marvel Heroes Library

    This series seems to be building from the recent situation. Including the Hellfire Gala 1-shot and current X-Men series that new scribe Gerry Duggan also wrote. So presumably his invention Freilong will continue to be involved. This is the take the hero down to rock bottom before building him up again plot.
  • 75

    Weird Science Marvel Comics

    The Invincible Iron Man #1 is a serviceable start to a new run starring Marvel’s quintessential playboy after he’s fallen on hard times. The pacing, plot progression, and dialog are excellent, and the art team delivers a gorgeous set of visuals. However, kicking off a new run with Tony Stark hitting rock bottom feels like too-familiar territory, so it remains to be seen if this series is worth continuing.
  • 73

    Major Spoilers

    The first issue of Cantwell's run wasn't even two years ago and it might as well have been the 17th century, but the big changes feel intentional and deliberate.
  • 70

    Henchman-4-Hire

    Solid, if depressing start to a new Iron Man series. A lot of big story elements are set up, especially our main character’s potential growth.
  • 40

    Comic Book Revolution

    In Gerry Duggan’s search to tell his own version of Demon In A Bottle he creates an immediate exit point as soon as The Invincible Iron Man #1 ends. The entire story felt like repeating a bad cycle you thought you escaped from but somehow find yourself stuck in yet again. The only saving grace was the solid artwork by Juan Frigeri. But even good artwork can’t save a story that leaves you with a feeling of not wanting to read more. And that is exactly what happens with the writing in The Invincible Iron Man #1.

More From The Invincible Iron Man (2022)

About the Author: Gerry Duggan

Gerry Duggan is an American comics writer, director and photographer living in Los Angeles.

Early life

Duggan was born in New York City and raised in Ridgewood, New Jersey, where he graduated from Ridgewood High School in 1992. He attended Emerson College, graduating in 1996.

Career

Duggan was working at Golden Apple Comics in 1999 where he met many of his future collaborators, and eventually began production jobs working at Dakota Films. For the next 10 years worked in live TV, awards shows, pilots, comics, and films before finding traction in American comic books. Gerry Duggan has written Hulk, Nova, Hawkeye Vs. Deadpool, Batman: Arkham Manor, and co-writing Deadpool with Brian Posehn.

Duggan was a writer and producer on Attack of the Show! and was on the staff for its final shows. His comics career began at Image Comics by writing and co-creating series The Last Christmas with Posehn and Rick Remender, and later The Infinite Horizon with Phil Noto, with was nominated for an Eisner Award in 2008 for Best New Series. Duggan was a regular cast member on Posehn’s role-playing podcast Nerd Poker, but was forced to exit due increased writing deadlines.

In 2013, Marvel re-launched the Deadpool series, with Duggan and Brian Posehn as writers. In 2014 Duggan contributed to the script for the Xbox game Sunset Overdrive, and was part of a team that wrote the 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards hosted by Patton Oswalt, for which he was nominated for a WGA Award. Duggan also directed the promotional ads for that year’s awards shows. In the same year he commenced a contract with Marvel Entertainment, and began work on a reboot of the Avengers series.

In 2016 Duggan co-wrote Marvel’s Doctor Strange: The Last Days of Magic, and continued to write for the Deadpool series until the run’s conclusion with issue 36. Duggan currently writes the critically acclaimed Marauders, as part of Marvel’s 2019 reboot of the X-Men titles and also began writing Cable in 2020. In 2021, Duggan began writing the X-Men flagship series, replacing Jonathan Hickman.

Personal life

Duggan has lived and worked in Los Angeles since 1998. He is married to Virginia Duggan and together they have one son.

[Latest Update: June 17, 2022]

My Agile Privacy
This website uses technical and profiling cookies. Clicking on "Accept" authorises all profiling cookies. Clicking on "Refuse" or the X will refuse all profiling cookies. By clicking on "Customise" you can select which profiling cookies to activate.