Skip to content

The Invincible Iron Man #1

70
Comicscore Index
Generally favorable ratings

Based on 16 critic ratings.

Tony Stark, the genius-billionaire-playboy-philanthropist, has lost it all: his wealth… his fame… his friends. But Stark doesn’t realize he still has so much more to lose, especially when the assassins start to come for him! It’s the beginning of the end, as the Golden Avenger must fight for his life and find out what it really means to hit rock bottom.

Join Gerry Duggan (X-Men) and Juan Frigeri (The Avengers) as they take Iron Man to the darkest corners of the Marvel Universe yet!

Publication Date
Publisher
Format
Kindle Edition
Print Lenght
35 pages
Language
English
Amazon ASIN
B0BF18N5LF

Cover Artist

6%
25%
69%
16 Critic Ratings & Reviews from:
  • 100

    Un Cómic Más

    Mysterious and intense first chapter full of suspense and breakneck action.
  • 100

    FreakSugar

    The Invincible Iron Man #1 is the perfect jumping-on point for new fans of Tony's exploits, while still respecting the long history in which past readers have invested themselves.
  • 90

    Graphic Policy

    Overall, Invincible Iron Man #1 is a fun debut issue which gives a fresh remix to this very familiar character. The story by Duggan is exhilarating. The art by the creative team is remarkable. Altogether, a story that will have readers find their excitement for this character renewed.
  • 90

    AIPT

    Invincible Iron Man #1 features brutal shocks while leaning into Tony Stark's resolve in a story that draws you in and keeps you invested in the character. A thriller that puts you in Tony Stark's head, Iron Man fights beautifully against the pressure of a constant and unknown threat.
  • 90

    ComicBook.com

    Luckily, for fans of Tony Stark, Invincible Iron Man #1 from Duggan and Frigeri strikes the perfect balance between a complete reinvention and redundancy. The story is a fresh take on the beloved Avengers while staying true to his roots. The fact this creative team is able to balance the two ends in a flawless manner is stunning, making this one of the most impressive Iron Man debuts in recent memory.
  • 90

    But Why Tho?

    The Invincible Iron Man #1 is an explosive start. Duggan's run begins with a bang, and the energy manifested by that will hopefully inform the rest of the series. There is a streamlined nature to the comic, with Tony Stark basically having the armor on his back and nothing else. It's an Iron Man adventure in the heart of the Marvel Universe, borrowing the best the world has to offer with cameos and mysteries galore.
  • 90

    Fortress of Solitude

  • 87

    The Super Powered Fancast

    The Story: Duggan delivers an engaging and intriguing mystery in this first issue. Bringing Tony to his lowest is an interesting narrative choice and the new enemy being introduced make me curious about both the story and where it will go. I look forward to the next issue and how this series evolves. The Art: Frigeri delivers some great art on every page of the issue. The action is visually thrilling and I love the visual world of the character.
  • 84

    Graphic Policy

    Invincible Iron Man #1 is a great start that does an excellent job of balancing what has been going on with what’s to come. It should continue to hook and excite long time readers while acting as a perfecting starting point for new ones as well.
  • 83

    The Comicbook Dispatch

    Overall, this story is a mix between Trading Places and Minority Report (in the premise, not the futuristic precog stuff) with a weighted slap of almost every bad characteristic of Tony Stark you can think of wrapped up in one comic. If Duggans point was to make the character be at one of his lowest points, hes certainly succeeded. But, whos behind all of this, and why? For someone to go through all of this, there must be some serious hate involved. As of right now, Im intrigued and think its worth sticking out for a six-issue arc to see how this irons out.
  • 81

    Comic Watch

    After the explosive finale of the Cantwell run, Tonys still down on his luck, now staying in a bit of a dive, as he tries to rebuild his life from financial ruin. Someones out to get him, but with no proof, who could be pulling his strings? Is it someone we know, or someone completely new? Lots of questions, and some great art gave this book a boost. Hopefully these two can capture a Tony we havent seen in awhile: the fun version.
  • 80

    Marvel Heroes Library

    This series seems to be building from the recent situation. Including the Hellfire Gala 1-shot and current X-Men series that new scribe Gerry Duggan also wrote. So presumably his invention Freilong will continue to be involved. This is the take the hero down to rock bottom before building him up again plot.
  • 75

    Weird Science Marvel Comics

    The Invincible Iron Man #1 is a serviceable start to a new run starring Marvel’s quintessential playboy after he’s fallen on hard times. The pacing, plot progression, and dialog are excellent, and the art team delivers a gorgeous set of visuals. However, kicking off a new run with Tony Stark hitting rock bottom feels like too-familiar territory, so it remains to be seen if this series is worth continuing.
  • 73

    Major Spoilers

    The first issue of Cantwell's run wasn't even two years ago and it might as well have been the 17th century, but the big changes feel intentional and deliberate.
  • 70

    Henchman-4-Hire

    Solid, if depressing start to a new Iron Man series. A lot of big story elements are set up, especially our main character’s potential growth.
  • 40

    Comic Book Revolution

    In Gerry Duggan’s search to tell his own version of Demon In A Bottle he creates an immediate exit point as soon as The Invincible Iron Man #1 ends. The entire story felt like repeating a bad cycle you thought you escaped from but somehow find yourself stuck in yet again. The only saving grace was the solid artwork by Juan Frigeri. But even good artwork can’t save a story that leaves you with a feeling of not wanting to read more. And that is exactly what happens with the writing in The Invincible Iron Man #1.

More From The Invincible Iron Man (2022)