Skip to content

Superboy: The Man Of Tomorrow #1 (of 6)

80
Comicscore Index
Generally favorable ratings

Based on 16 critic ratings.

Conner Kent takes center stage! After the events of Dark Crisis, Conner feels out of place with the rest of the hero community. He doesn’t fit in with the rest of the Superman Family, and the rest of the world doesn’t really need him with so many Supers in Metropolis. He doesn’t want to rely on Tim, Cassie, and Bart, so Conner looks to the stars as a place he might be able to call his own and carve out his own path. But what lurks in the great unknown? Are bravado and swagger enough to help Superboy find his new calling? This is the 2022 Round Robin winner-picked by you, the fans!

Publication Date
Publisher
Format
Kindle Edition
Print Length
24 pages
Language
English
Amazon ASIN
B0BYB1JDSG

13%
31%
56%
16 Critic Ratings & Reviews from:
  • 100

    But Why Tho?

    Superboy: The Man of Tomorrow #1 is a great example of how to give a character space. Earth may have been too crowded for another ultra-powerful Kryptonian, but there is a whole multiverse in need of hope. All of the creators involved are top-class, filling every page with joy and energy. It is great to see Superboy at the helm of his own comic again.

  • 100

    Get Your Comic On

    Conner’s solo return quickly proves it was worth the wait. Capitalising on his new status as a character out of place in the universe is the perfect starting point for creating a new legacy for the original Superboy.

  • 100

    First Comics News

    Conner Kent is back in his own title! YES!! to say that I’m happy about this is an understatement as I’ve always been a Kon-El fan since the “Reign of the Supermen” arc and while the New 52 diminished his value, it’s great to see the original back in effect. Feeling out of place in a world that doesn’t require his help, Kon-El finds himself in space where in order to fulfill his need to once again be a hero, lands on an unknown planet that’s in chaos and it looks like Conner has bitten off more than he can chew (OUCH!!); Kenny Porter has delivered a stylish yet adventurous story like is, in fact, a true reintroduction to a memorable character from the Superman family while not falling into the whole “Take everything special that Karl Kesel did and recycle it” troupe which thankfully he never takes that route but while he was squandered in Brian Michael Bendis’ run on “Young Justice”, The Man of Tomorrow gives us a Conner Kent that we’ve been waiting for all while all of his personality traits are back and I for one welcome it since it will remind us 90s babies why this version of Superboy is the absolute best.

  • 95

    Lyles Movie Files

    Porter might make his Connor less mature than the usual portrayal in the post Dark Knights Death Metal era, but this helps make him stand out better than another young adult Superman like Jon Kent and Keenan Kong.

    The artwork from Jahnoy Lindsay is a great stylistic fit for Superboy, who looks more youthful than the 20-something modern look.

    Lindsay’s art is full of life and a fun energy that makes for a visually stimulating read. Lindsay’s color choices are vibrant as well.

    This wasn’t a book I had hopes for, but the creative team really seems to get what makes Connor unique among the Super Family and play to those strengths instead of just forcing him into ill-fitting scenarios.

    Man of Tomorrow’s debut definitely warrants a look for Superboy and Young Justice fans specifically and readers who want a pleasantly fun story.

  • 95

    Fortress of Solitude

  • 87

    Comic Watch

    Superboy: The Man of Tomorrow #1 is a high energy first issue that delivers a lot of fun. The issue makes much more effective use of Jons difficulties reconnecting with this world than has recently been done. The story elements are direct and simple (as is the art at times). But its easy for the reader to quickly invest in Jon and his compelling story.

  • 85

    Weird Science DC Comics

    Superboy: The Man Of Tomorrow #1 is a very strong start to a Conner-centric story about the Kryptonian clone looking for his place in the world (or galaxy). The writing and art are both rock-solid, except for an odd consistency issue with the art, and the adventure holds your interest.

  • 85

    Geek Dad

    It’s been a long time since Superboy got a solo spotlight, with the character having one of the longest absences of any hero since the New 52—so long, in fact, that the 2019 Young Justice series had to come up with a strange work-around about him being in an alternate dimension and missing several reboots in a row! So it’s no surprise that the character had a lot of momentum from fans, which led to this book handily winning the second DC Round Robin tournament. It also means that the creative team has a lot of heavy lifting to do. When we first meet Kon-El in the modern day, he’s struggling to find his place in the new Super-Family dynamic. Anything he can do, there are several other super-teens around to back him up and do it better. The only people he really seems to connect with are Jonathan and Martha Kent, who encourage him to find his own purpose the way Clark did when he left Smallville.

    That leads Kon to the Fortress of Solitude, where he looks for crises that aren’t being addressed that he can handle. He doesn’t find any on Earth—but he does in space, where an army of Dominator-led genetically engineered goons are tearing a world apart. He charges in to help the species of hapless lizard-people, but soon finds himself overwhelmed by the strength of the enemy—who seem to have some similarity to him. The story is a little thin, mostly being dedicated to action scenes, but it’s clear Kenny Porter loves the character and does some nice deep cuts to his mostly-forgotten early history. The art by Jahnoy Lindsay is excellent, but draws Kon-El a little too youthful. It’s easy to forget that the character was old enough to play stepdad on Gemworld before his friends found him. Overall, it’s a fun start that does a good job with a very messy status quo for a cult-favorite hero.

  • 84

    Supergirl Comic Box Commentary

    Porter gives Conner a lot of enthusiasm and confidence and heroic drive which I love. There is a whiff of ‘The Ravers’, a reference I hope is made. Lindsay brings a ton of kinetic energy to the proceedings. It has a Japanese anime feel to it, like Dragon Ball. Awesome.

    (…)

    This was a fun comic. The art really leaps off the page. I think Conner has been underutilized and semi-brutalized for a while. I thought Bendis’ Young Justice might shine the light on him but that petered out. So I am glad he won that DC contest and I am glad he is getting this book.

    And I mean this in the best possible way. It reminded me of the Kesel/Grummett book. That’s a good thing.

  • 79

    Graphic Policy

    Superboy: The Man of Tomorrow #1 is a good start. While it doesn’t totally blow me away, it’s a fun time and left me wanting to see what happens next. Overall, this may play better with Conner fans but for those new to the character it does an excellent job of catching readers up and setting him along his adventure.

  • 73

    Superman Homepage

    Yes, comics can still be fun. Conner is a very underused character and recently just a background character in the current Action Comics book. It is good to see him get a mini series and better yet, in what seems to be a fun space adventure story. With the rogue Dominator experimenting on aliens to create super soldiers, this mini series suggests that it will provide a very personal character developing story for Conner.

  • 70

    COMICON

    The art is the strongest part of the issue. Though he does draw Conner a bit on the young side, Lindsay’s able to get a grasp on who he is, how he acts, his mannerisms and body language immediately, particularly in his struggle to figure out his place in the world. It’s drawn across his face, and the issue shines thanks to that. He depicts his powers as unique, and Conner’s foes in the issue are intimidating, all in their own unique way. Lindsay’s colors look great too, adding a seamless flair to the visuals.

    The writing is a little more mixed. Porter overall does a strong job, showing a young man struggling with a legacy bigger than himself. When you get into the smaller details, many of them don’t work. Conner’s issues with no one remembering him was resolved some time ago, and to see it come back here is a bit frustrating. The Dominators are written incredibly scary, and Conner’s overconfidence is straight pull from the classic series. It’s still a lot of fun to read, but it definitely needs a bit of polish.

  • 70

    Henchman-4-Hire

    This is a perfectly reasonable, perfectly fine first issue that sets up the title character into a status quo and sends him on an adventure. That’s how comic books work, and it works just fine in this issue. Superboy is written well and is put in a very reasonable and understandable place at the start of the issue. Personally, I think sending him out into space to some random planet is a bit too much of a stretch, but that’s just me. I like grounded stories. But I digress. We’ve got Superboy looking to feel useful, and he answers a random distress call from a random planet out in space. It works, and it keeps the strong character foundation. Then he fights a bunch of super-powered clones, with a lead villain that also works as a villain. It all works.

    I like the idea of Superboy meeting some space teens. Might be a fun place for him. And the Cosmoteers is just a fun name. If he’s not going to pal around with his Young Justice friends, he might as well go out into space and make some friends there. Could be a fun storyline. Make friends, fall in love, have adventures, uncover some twisted secret that blows everything up; lots of potential in a story like this. And I bet Superboy fans will enjoy the issue, because he’s written well with a lot of character. And the artwork is great. Captures everything nicely, and he really stands out. That leather jacket look is damn cool in 2023.

    Good, solid start for this new series, with a strong focus on the main character. Nothing really explosive or mind-blowing as of yet, just a nice set up issue to kick things off.

  • 70

    Major Spoilers

    Superboy: The Man of Tomorrow #1 is a very pretty book, with a dynamic blending of styles that come together in a coherent and entertaining way. While the story is fairly straightforward and there isn’t much to complain about there, the book itself struggles to carve out an identity of its own where it doesn’t get lost in the crowd of other Super-family books.

  • 60

    ComicBook.com

    Superboy: The Man of Tomorrow #1 isn’t a bad comic. It’s an easy read and it’s one that fans of Conner Kent will be excited about as it’s nice to see the character back in action and in his own story. Unfortunately, it’s a story that feels like it needs a more focused direction. For a character with an interesting history and a lot of creative potential, this recycled premise from another Superman family story done better may not be the right way to go.

  • 50

    AIPT

    I came away from this debut mildly amused. The story made for a light, breezy read, but the final page tease didn’t grab me for next month. I wish I felt more attached to this series, but besides the nostalgia factor, I didn’t find much to latch onto. For fans of Connor, I’m sure his return here will be a welcome addition to the ever-expanding Superman line. I think at this point, DC is aiming for a Superman book for everyone. This one just didn’t happen to be for me.

More From Superboy: The Man Of Tomorrow (2023)