Skip to content

Quest #1

70
Comicscore Index
Generally favorable ratings

Based on 7 critic ratings.

SERIES PREMIERE

Writer/artist JONATHAN LUNA (THE SWORD, ALEX + ADA) returns for an ONGOING FANTASY SERIES with writer CRYSTAL WOOD (The Black Ballad)!

In a land inspired by Southeast Asia, Princess Anya’s new husband Prince Devyan is violently abducted by three giant demons at their wedding. Anya sets out on an epic journey with a growing band of loyal warriors, crossing deadly landscapes and battling horrifying demons. What will she sacrifice to save the man she loves?

Publication Date
Publisher
Format
Kindle Edition
Print Length
32 pages
Language
English
Amazon ASIN
B0CC3P277N

43%
29%
29%
7 Critic Ratings & Reviews from:
  • 90

    The Comicbook Dispatch

    The Quest #1 is a great beginning to a new fantasy series with a powerful lead character, great action and lots of exotic locations. Recommended.

  • 85

    Comic Watch

    Fans of Luna’s and Wood’s previous works will be happy to see this issue on shelves and it’s worth checking out for anyone with a fantasy itch.

  • 75

    Nerd Initiative

    If you are looking for something new and unique this week on New Comic Book Day, I honestly say that Quest #1 from Image Comics is a solid choice. Beautiful artwork and a wonderful story combine into a fine new addition to the Image Comics lineup.

  • 63

    Major Spoilers

    Even with what feels like an imperfect breaking point serving as the cliffhanger, Quest #1 has a lot going for it, providing an interesting launching point that easily goes to an unexpected place, and while I would have liked more of this in the debut issue, it’s still well-done. There is a lot of the proverbial world-building in here, but it’s all revealed within a story that engages and intrigues. Any issue that leaves you wishing there was more of it can’t be bad.

  • 60

    ComicBook.com

    Quest certainly starts off with a bang as a wedding between a lovely couple is suddenly ruined when three demons show up, kill many of the guests and kidnap the groom. From here you can map out how the rest of the issue is going to go pretty easily – the bride and her bodyguard (who is a walking emotional third wheel trope) set off to find her husband, but only after her parents try to forbid her from taking action and setting off for a mysterious far away land. What might wind up hurting this book, in the long run, is the artwork. The Southeast Asia-roots are as clear as day, but the character designs, panel layout and artwork are seriously lacking in energy, making the dialogue-heavy scenes particularly challenging to get through. The book clearly has some big narrative ambitions to the point that it might be able to work around its visual weaknesses, but it’s a mighty hurdle to climb.

  • 60

    You Don't Read Comics

    Luna and Wood might be moving the story along in a way that feels a little awkward at the outset. However, it feels like things could really ramp up and become more intriguing. Once the story moves out beyond the palace. The nobility of the princess will be contrasted against the rest of the world in which she’s adventuring. That’s going to add a great deal of momentum to things. The Southeast Asian atmosphere should be a pleasant and fascinating contrast against all of the European-based fantasy adventure stories that dominate the comics rack.

  • 55

    AIPT

    The thing about “harrowing adventures” is that they should be worth traversing. The Fellowship didn’t just banish a big bad, but learned and grew from their long journey and battles. That’s mostly why I want to stick with this book: I think it’s honestly worth it. Do I expect some sweet companionship (i.e., more compelling adventure)? Sure. Do I also see little two-faced gremlin jerks (read: weird structural issues that vex and annoy?) Totes. I don’t know if the former can outweigh the latter just yet, but I’m willing enough to take a second step on this romantic crusade.

More From Quest (2023)