Skip to content

Love Everlasting #1

79
Comicscore Index
Generally favorable ratings

Based on 14 critic ratings.

From superstar award-winning creators TOM KING and ELSA CHARRETIER, comes a new ONGOING SERIES in the tradition of SANDMAN and SAGA. Joan Peterson discovers that she is trapped in an endless, terrifying cycle of “romance”—a problem to be solved, a man to marry—and every time she falls in love she’s torn from her world and thrust into another teary saga. Her bloody journey to freedom and revelation starts in this breathtaking, groundbreaking FIRST ISSUE.

Publication Date
Publisher
Format
Kindle Edition
Print Lenght
27 pages
Language
English
Price
$3.99
Amazon ASIN
B0B7P4XC3Y

Author
Cover Artist

7%
29%
64%
14 Critic Ratings & Reviews from:
  • 100

    AIPT

    Love Everlasting benefits from strong writing, impeccable art, and a style of storytelling that is wholly original.
  • 100

    Comic Watch

    This is a book that feels like its going to quickly escape the orbit of the romance genre and move into something more sinister and cosmic, whether that be in a philosophical, literal, or technical way is yet to be seen. Fans of works that transcend genre and twist their form will love this issue, and with an issue this strong, it's hard not to sign up for the Everlasting Productions newsletter for more of the story immediately.
  • 100

    You Don't Read Comics

    Now that the initial premise is delivered, the challenge will lie in keeping everything interesting. The progression through the first three stories of the series is enjoyable enough. King has given the series an intriguing momentum, but it will be difficult to keep it engaging with Joan fully aware of whats going on. She doesnt know WHY its going on, though...which will likely be the mystery moving forward. The success of the series is going to rely on what King does with the central mystery of the premise.
  • 100

    Monkeys Fighting Robots

    Love Everlasting is a smart, terrifying upending of the romance genre. It reels you into a world that feels comfortable and familiar, before pulling the rug out from under you. You don't want to miss this fantastic new series.
  • 100

    Lotusland Comics

    'Love Everlasting' #1 is a masterclass in taking an old beloved genre and not just paying homage through imitation but lovingly bringing it to life with a few new twists. Just when you think this delightful romantic adventure is predictable, it takes an unexpected turn that only draws you in further. 'Love Everlasting' might be free but its value as a wonderful new comic series is immeasurable.
  • 100

    Wonder

    It’s clear that King, Charretier and the rest of the creative gang are having fun with this book. There is an undeniable energy here that celebrates the old ways of romanticizing romance while teasing an entirely new reading experience. Romance comics, or at least an odd flavor of it, is alive and well. Simon and Kirby would be proud.
  • 98

    Comics Bookcase

    Love Everlasting #1 is a very good comic, a cheeky and experimental riff on vintage romance comics that engages readers who study and love the mediums traditions and past.
  • 94

    The Super Powered Fancast

    The Story: Tom King crafts a brilliantly engaging and intriguing mystery in this first issue. There is a great classic comic feel to the story and the dialogue and the story draws you in with them while slowly revealing something strange happening to the character. I love how the story jumps to different time periods as well and the evolution of Joan throughout the journey. I definitely want to know what happens next. The Art: Elsa Charretier delivers some beautifully drawn art that has a wonderful classic style reminiscent of the romance comics of the 50’s and 60’s. The art brilliantly draws in the reader and transports you to a place of both beauty and mystery.
  • 90

    GWW

    Overall, Lover Everlasting is a phenomenal first issue but with some flaws. One of them is how expressive the art is but constrained by the repetitive panel layout on each page. Beyond that, the issue establishes the main character, conflict, and theme from the start. With the conflict set, King and Charretier can explore multiple stories while allowing Joan to figure out what is happening to her.
  • 80

    Graphic Policy

    Love Everlasting #1 is an intriguing debut. It both feels like an homage and a slight twist to the romance comic genre. There's a lot of details that were clearly added to make sure the comic nailed the style but at the same time, it all feels updated and fits modern comics. It's an intriguing start to the series that has a lot of potential for what's to come.
  • 80

    POP: Culture and Comics

    I was also initially surprised to see the familiar art style of Darwyn Cooke. Very surprised, because the dear man passed away years ago. Turns out the art is actually by Elsa Charretier, who has clearly been heavily influenced by Cooke. Add the expert, mood-shaping colors by Matt Hollingsworth, and it’s like a trip back in time to see the late artist’s work again. Stylistic similarities aside, Charretier displays solid storytelling, with each page containing a focal point, with an occasional figure or object breaking the panel or page edge for added visual interest. This will not be your mother's romance comic. I anxiously look forward to seeing what King has up his sleeve.
  • 73

    The Comicbook Dispatch

    Love Everlasting #1 is a frustrating read, with a lot of repetition as we follow Joan’s story. There’s a sinister level beneath the main story, though, that hints at a grander over-arching plot to come, and those hints are just enough to keep interest for what happens next.
  • 72

    Multiversity Comics

    Intriguing and clever but too vague for its own good
  • 60

    ComicBook.com

    Love Everlasting #1 is pleasant enough to read, but grows increasingly thin as it's read – issue #2 needs to add some depth to the superficial pleasures.

More From Love Everlasting (2022)