Skip to content

Doom #1

73
Comicscore Index
Generally favorable ratings

Based on 14 critic ratings.

IN THE NEAR FUTURE… DOOM ALONE MUST SAVE THE MARVEL UNIVERSE!

Legendary creators Jonathan Hickman (Ultimate Spider-Man, G.O.D.S.) and Sanford Greene (Bitter Root) send Doctor Doom on a journey unlike any he has undertaken before!

With Valeria Richards at his side, Doom goes on a quest to harness more power than any human has ever wielded before in order to try to stop Galactus from bringing about the death of the universe!

Publication Date
Publisher
Format
Kindle Edition
Print Lenght
51 pages
Language
English
Amazon ASIN
B0CWPP62QW

7%
29%
64%
14 Critic Ratings & Reviews from:
  • 100

    Un Cómic Más

    Magnificent story that mixes all the key elements and characters of the Marvel Universe in a dystopian future, placing Doctor Doom as the last hope.

  • 100

    First Comics News

    Every now and then, a supervillain makes their mark on pop culture and that’s definitely true when it comes to Doctor Doom so this one-shot is a great reminder of how powerful he is when he puts his high intellect to work; Shortly, Doom sets out on a quest to stop Galactus from destroying the Marvel Universe in the future and I have to say that this story is truly a cosmic masterpiece that hits the right notes when it comes to drama and being an amazing character study (Writing Fantastic Four during the mid-2000s have paid off for Jonathan Hickman, who truly gets Doom’s inner working as a villain white highlighting the more fascinating aspects about him such as his ability to be fearsome and cunning); Having Valeria Richards as his anchor shows that Doom’s not completely coldhearted but adds a form of support for someone willing to bring down a powerful entity such as Galactus; Doom # 1 is a magnificent story of epic proportions that displays the doctor at his best while giving readers the story that will always be remembered.

  • 97

    Comic Watch

    I want to yell from the mountaintops how much I love this book. The story is packed with action, beautiful prose, and artwork that pushes the narrative and raises it to new heights. I found myself one moment on the edge of my seat excited for happens next, the next, feeling emotionally engaged at what has happened and what’s going to happen. The layout of the pages is fantastic, making it a pleasure to the eyes. The pacing is balanced. Flashbacks and explanations don’t drag the story and add the appropriate amount of information without any huge lore dumps. I know that I’ll be reading this one over and over again for years to come!

  • 90

    ComicBook.com

    The sweep and scope of Doom #1 is every bit as grandiose as Victor von Doom has always envisioned their own life. Greene‘s imagery of a future defined by planet-shattering battles and the most fearsome forces of Marvel Comics at war matches those titanic aspirations on each and every page honed to focus on an eponymous character who avoids human attachments. It is a character study that captures both what makes Doom so fearsome and undeniably alluring. For any fan of Doctor DoomDoom #1 is an obvious triumph that presents this comics icon at their absolute best.

  • 90

    Fortress of Solitude

  • 90

    Nerd Initiative

    I want to yell from the mountaintops how much I love this book. The story is packed with action, beautiful prose, and artwork that pushes the narrative and raises it to new heights. I found myself one moment on the edge of my seat excited for happens next, the next, feeling emotionally engaged at what has happened and what’s going to happen. The layout of the pages is fantastic, making it a pleasure to the eyes. The pacing is balanced. Flashbacks and explanations don’t drag the story and add the appropriate amount of information without any huge lore dumps. I know that I’ll be reading this one over and over again for years to come!

  • 90

    Derby Comics

    While the plot itself may not break new ground, the character study is thorough & thought-provoking. It’s a book on the scale of something Doom himself would be proud of. This is a must-read for fans of Doctor Doom. Hickman & Greene created something truly special, & I would love to see more collaborations between them in the future.

  • 88

    The Super Powered Fancast

    Hickman crafts an intense and entertaining story for Doom in this issue. It’s a dark tale filled with great action and creates an interesting dynamic between Doom and Valeria. The story has a great dark tone as well and made me appreciate Doom in a way that I didn’t before. An intensely fun and dark ride.

    Greene’s art is masterful. There are so many wonderful visual moments throughout the issue and every reaction is filled with great details that perfectly convey the emotion of the moments.

  • 88

    Weird Science Marvel Comics

    Doom #1 is a surprisingly engaging, dramatic, and entertaining comic about Dr. Doom facing the greatest threat to the universe alone. Hickman’s fondness for cosmically-oriented situations hits a sweet spot, and Greene’s eclectic art style looks great.

  • 80

    AIPT

    Doom #1 is a visual delight, offering the end of every superhero and a final battle with Galactus in one issue. Dr. Doom emerges from this story as a man who sees himself as the inevitable end for anyone who faces him. He rambles a bit too much, but you can’t deny how epic and awesome this story can get.

  • 79

    The Comicbook Dispatch

    Doom #1 is a great one-shot that puts Dr. Doom in a new light. While he is typically depicted as a villain, this issue shows he is also capable of being a hero when he needs to be too. Yet, Doom is a different sort of hero and does not operate as mercifully as other heroes might. It doesn’t necessarily show him defeating Galactus in a rematch, but he still puts forth his best efforts, not caring about whether he dies in battle. His personality remains pretty much the same, still somewhat cold and cynical, and yet he does what needs to do to fight against a threat to the universe. If you’re interested in seeing one of Marvel’s greatest villains wield cosmic power and be depicted in a more heroic light, this comic is for you.

  • 70

    Razorfine

    I would be curious about how this project came about. It reads like a mini-series which got condensed into one giant-sized issue that feels at times both rushed and incomplete without offering an ending to the battle it spends so much time setting up. That said, I like Valeria and Doom together and we get plenty of monologuing from the villain as he prepares for the big battle.

  • 68

    Multiversity Comics

    Marvel’s Doom #1 features beautiful artwork with a narrative keeping readers at arm’s length from it’s title character.

  • 60

    Major Spoilers

    By the end of the issue, I felt absolutely hopeless, which means that Doom #1 did its job even with my problems with the art, and the ending is a rare example of a Big Two comic that chooses the Twilight Zone ending. I’m also impressed by how Hickman and Greene utilize Richard Matheson’s traditional titling trick, something most readers won’t catch until the perfect story moment.

More From Doom (2024)