Skip to content

Batman: Urban Legends #5

68
Comicscore Index
Generally favorable ratings

Based on 14 critic ratings.

Red Hood: Meet Cheer, the villain behind the insidious Cheerdrops altering the citizens of Gotham. When confronted with a man responsible for taking the lives of so many, including Tyler, the kid Jason Todd swore to protect, will Red Hood be able to stop himself from taking vengeance for a whole city?
Grifter: Through four chapters of blood, bullets, and Batman, the true reason for Cole Cash emerging in Gotham City reveals itself at last…but it’s not what you think!
Tim Drake: Tim is determined to find his friend Bernard, who was taken by a Chaos Monster before his very eyes. But this case is different from any Tim has taken on before, and the cracks are starting to show.
Batgirls: Cassandra Cain and Stephanie Brown are just two teenagers breaking into Wayne Manor so they can play some video games. But when Oracle gives them a mission, the Batgirls suit up and head to an abandoned arcade to investigate.
Publication Date
Publisher
Format
Kindle Edition
Print Lenght
70 pages
Language
English
Price
$7.99
Amazon ASIN
B097KM1P3X

14%
21%
64%
14 Critic Ratings & Reviews from:
  • 98

    Comic Watch

    Obviously this story will speak more to Wildstorm fans but because of the craftsmanship applied to every element of the story (including the fantastic letters and SFX from Temofonte and vibrant colors from Fabela), even the most uninitiated can enjoy this story as an expertly crafted story that leaves the reader salivating for more, more, more!
  • 96

    Forces Of Geek

    It is a good issue overall, and all the stories worked in some capacity.
  • 91

    Comic Watch

    The tumultuous relationship between Batman and Red Hood has been tested, broken, and repaired many times since they first met lo those many years ago... but it has rarely been examined with as much love and attention as it has been here. We have one issue left, and Im honestly dreading having to let this story go.
  • 90

    GWW

    The setup for two finales we're set to get in Batman: Urban Legends #6 have been great. Specifically, the Red Hood story has me on the edge of my seat with the problem Batman is facing. I'm also very excited to learn more about the mysterious woman from Bennett's Batgirls story elsewhere in the future.
  • 90

    AIPT

    Batman: Urban Legends #5 should make you excited to be a Bat fan. With a rich focus on character, wonderfully expressive art, and many surprises for the future of the Bat-landscape, it can't disappoint.
  • 90

    But Why Tho?

    Batman: Urban Legends #5 introduces long-lost characters from the Wildstorm Universe into the fray, and continues to shine the spotlight on the Dark Knight's various allies. With "The Long Con" wrapping up and "Cheer" reaching its conclusion next issue, I hope that the series continues to find new ways to explore Gotham's Guardians.
  • 90

    Dark Knight News

    Batman: Urban Legends #5 is a winner. I've been saying for years that DC make the very best anthology books, and I'm sure that regular readers of this series will agree. This title is terrific, and this could be the best issue to date. Fans of Batman, Red Hood, the Batgirls, Tim Drake and 90s comics need to pick this book up.
  • 85

    Geek Dad

    Overall, another strong installment although only the first two stories are really A-tier.
  • 84

    The Super Powered Fancast

    Cheer - A great story from Zdarsky that raises the stakes for both characters and gives a great spotlight on Jason and his doubts. Wildcard - A good short that does a great job of introducing a new character that could definitely find a place with Barbara and the others. Sum Of Our Parts - A good short story that does a great job of showcasing Tim. The Long Con - Rosenberg brings this story to a satisfying conclusion. It’s well done and fun both in its dialogue and reveals. It’s definitely one that is worth reading because saying more about it would spoil it for the reader.
  • 75

    Lyles Movie Files

    Zdarsky and company sell this issue mostly on their own, but Grifter fans will likely be very glad they stuck with the anthology series as well.
  • 75

    Comic Book Revolution

    Batman: Urban Legends #5 is a blast to read. It is great to pick up a comic book that offers the opportunity for the entire Batman Family to take the center stage in their own story. This issue does a particularly highlights what makes Red Hood, Spoiler, Orphan, Tim Drake's Robin, and Grifter such great character. Each of the stories told around these character keep you engaged as a reader and makes you want to read more adventures dedicated to each of them.
  • 70

    ComicBook.com

    All in all there's a lot to like here, even if everything doesn't click with you in the same way.
  • 55

    Batman-News

    Urban Legends continues its holding pattern as a pretty average Batman book. Despite some bright spots, it's getting harder and harder to analyze this series, because even the best stories feel like they're stretched too thin. I wish I could even say that it's worth it to pick this up as a fan of the individual characters, but with incredibly mixed results and quality that varies wildly, it's a steep investment at $8 an issue.
  • 50

    The Batman Universe

    Urban Legends steams ahead, though this issue feels a bit uneven. The "Cheer" story remains the stalwart and promises to close with the force of its opening. The Grifter story never really belonged, and/or if it did ought never should have lasted for five issues. Tim and Stephanie's relationship deserved more time and care than it is apparently receiving, and that remains a major disappointment.

More From Batman: Urban Legends (2021)

About the Author: Chip Zdarsky

Steve Murray (born December 21, 1975), known by the pen-name Chip Zdarsky, is a Canadian comic book artist and writer, journalist, illustrator and designer. He has also used the pseudonym Todd Diamonte. He worked for National Post for over a decade, until 2014, as an illustrator and humorist (as Steve Murray) and wrote and illustrated a column called “Extremely Bad Advice” for the paper as well as The Ampersand, the newspaper’s pop culture section’s online edition.

He uses the Zdarsky pseudonym for comics-related work, using it to create Prison Funnies and Monster Cops and as artist and co-creator of Sex Criminals with writer Matt Fraction. Comics attributed to him include Howard the Duck, Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man, Daredevil and Spider-Man: Life Story for Marvel Comics, Batman for DC Comics and Jughead for Archie Comics.

Early life

Steve Murray was born in Edmonton, Alberta and raised in Barrie, Ontario.

Career

Murray has illustrated for such clients as The Globe and Mail, New York magazine, CBC and Canadian Business.

In 2000, Murray created Chip Zdarsky as a pseudonym and alter ego for his persona as a comic book writer and illustrator, developing his own independent projects, such as Prison Funnies and Monster Cops (which can be read online or in print) as well as collaborating on a variety of projects, including Dark Horse Comics titles Fierce and Rumble Royale. About his alter ego, Murray said “I wanted to have a sad-sack cartoonist persona that lives in his mom’s basement, paints figurines for money, has restraining orders against him. And that became a character.” He describes the character as “an idiot who doesn’t know what I’m doing. I’ve had no success in my life. No matter what, I’m going to mess things up.” Murray initially attempted to keep the identities separate and secret.

From 2008 to 2014, Murray penned and illustrated a weekly advice column for the National Post called “Extremely Bad Advice”. He also wrote another column in that paper, Tear Jerk, in which he reviewed films to see if they could actually make him “weep like a baby”.

Along with Kagan McLeod, Ben Shannon, and Cameron Stewart, he is a co-founder of the studio The Royal Academy of Illustration and Design, which produced Rumble Royale.

In 2010, he also launched a mock campaign for mayor of Toronto. He was not an officially registered candidate, launching his satirical “campaign” through social networking platforms after the deadline had passed to register as a candidate in the real campaign.

Chip Zdarsky and Matt Fraction
In June 2013, Image Comics announced that Chip Zdarsky had teamed up with Invincible Iron Man and Hawkeye writer, Matt Fraction, on a new creator-owned series titled Sex Criminals. The first issue was released on September 23, 2013. Sex Criminals was declared number 1 on Time magazine’s list of “Top 10 Comics and Graphic Novels” of 2013.

In 2014, Murray won a Will Eisner Award for Best New Series for Sex Criminals.

Zdarsky wrote the first series arc of the relaunched Jughead comic for the 2015 New Riverdale relaunch.

On February 15, 2017, it was announced that beginning that June, Zdarsky would be writing a brand new “back-to-basics” Spider-Man series Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man that would run alongside writer Dan Slott‘s run on The Amazing Spider-Man. Zdarsky later wrote the two Spider-Man miniseries Spider-Man: Life Story and Spider-Man: Spider’s Shadow.

In November 2018, it was announced that Zdarsky would serve as the writer on Daredevil, with Marco Checchetto serving as artist. The series began publication in February 2019 and lasted until November 2021 with issue 36. This leads into the event Devil’s Reign, also by Zdarsky and Checchetto. A new Daredevil #1 will launch in June 2022, with Zdarsky and Checchetto returning from the previous volume. The series will explore the fallout of Devil’s Reign and the effect it had on both Matt and Elektra, as both are operating as Daredevil.

In 2020, DC Comics announced that Zdarsky would be among the creators of a revived Batman: Black and White anthology series to debut on December 8, 2020.

In February 2022, it was announced that Zdarsky will serve as the new writer for the mainline Batman book, starting with issue 125 on July 5, with Jorge Jiménez serving as the artist.

[Latest Update: May 26, 2022]

My Agile Privacy
This website uses technical and profiling cookies. Clicking on "Accept" authorises all profiling cookies. Clicking on "Refuse" or the X will refuse all profiling cookies. By clicking on "Customise" you can select which profiling cookies to activate.